Bolick to receive highest honor at Collegiate Basketball Awards » Manila Bulletin Sports

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Bolick to receive highest honor at Collegiate Basketball Awards


THE NCAA championship is the only trophy that matters to San Beda’s Robert Bolick.

San Beda's Robert Bolick (MB photo | Rio Leonelle Deluvio)

San Beda’s Robert Bolick (MB photo | Rio Leonelle Deluvio)

Nonetheless, Bolick will finally get his due recognition for his leading role in the Red Lions’ title run when he is named as Player of the Year in the 2018 Chooks-to-Go Collegiate Basketball Awards on Thursday night at The Bayleaf Hotel in Intramuros.

The 6-foot-1 guard was the undisputed leader of a San Beda side that won its league-leading 21st title in NCAA Season 93.

However, Bolick was left out of any individual hardware after being disqualified for the Mythical Team due to a controversial ejection in an elimination round game and being edged out by teammate Donald Tankoua for Finals MVP.

While the 21-year-old is never one to look for personal glory, the fact remains that he was the catalyst for the Mendiola-based squad in two close contests in the Finals against Lyceum and Season MVP CJ Perez.

Bolick came through for his team when it mattered most, dropping seven of his 24 points in the last two minutes of Game 1 and then scoring seven of his 22 markers with under five minutes remaining in Game 2.

As such, the scribes from print and online media who have organized the event supported by Chooks-to-Go, Cherrylume, and The Bayleaf Intramuros have only deemed him worthy of the highest honor.

The pride of Ormoc, Leyte is the first Red Lion and first NCAA standout to be hailed as Player of the Year. He follows La Salle’s Jeron Teng and Ben Mbala, Ateneo’s Kiefer Ravena, and FEU’s Mac Belo as winners of the award.

Joining Bolick in this year’s Mythical Team are Green Archer Mbala, Pirate Perez, and Blue Eagles Matt Nieto and Thirdy Ravena.

Meanwhile, San Beda coach Boyet Fernandez and Ateneo mentor Tab Baldwin will also be feted as Coaches of the Year.

Fernandez guided the Red Lions to their 10th title in the last 12 years after emphatic wins in the NCAA Finals against Lyceum, a team which had swept the eliminations.

The Finals of the UAAP was also a showcase for the coaching prowess of Baldwin who got the most out of all the Blue Eagles to thwart archrival La Salle for their first championship since 2012.

Special awards will also be given to women’s basketball legend Afril Bernardino of National U, UE scoring machine Alvin Pasaol, and the Lyceum Pirates who completed their transformation from league cellar-dweller to legitimate contender.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts