Chua bags fourth Prima Bowler of the Year award » Manila Bulletin Sports

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

Chua bags fourth Prima Bowler of the Year award


Kenneth Chua bagged his fourth consecutive male bowler of the year title recently in the Team Prima Annual Awards Night at the V Corporate Centre in Makati City.

The 27-year-old national bowler was a strong contender for the award as he topped the 16th DATBI-CSI NBT Invitational Open in Dagupan, Pangasinan and Philippine Bowling Federation (PBF) PAGCOR Philippine International Open last May.

He also captured the 2018 MBA Open Masters last July and his recent was last week’s 1st PBF national Matchplay Championships. Those achievements were enough to snare his fourth overall Bowler of the Year award during the annual event organized by Team Prima chairman Alexander Lim.

“Winning the Prima bowler of the year for the fourth consecutive time feels special. Hard work and persistence have helped me to bring home the 2018 Prima bowler of the year,” said Chua. “I would thank the Lord for giving me strength to help me achieve my goals for 2018.”

Alexis Sy, meanwhile, regained the female bowler of the year crown after ruling the 2018 Bowling World Cup National Championship last October to qualify for the 54th International Finals in Las Vegas, Nevada last November along with bowler Merwin Tan.

Prima Male and Female Bowler of the Year winner Kenneth Chua and Alexis Sy

Prima Male and Female Bowler of the Year winner Kenneth Chua and Alexis Sy

Sy also represented the country as part of the women’s team in the 2018 Asian Games last August.

In the badminton class, Nephtali Pineda and Andre Abalos won the men and women of the year award while Zeth Quiambao and Ghiselle Bautista grabbed the junior male and female awards, respectively.

Other awardees were Clarence Tiu and Vivian Padawan (Bowler of the Year Cebu Male and Female), Art Barrientos, Dale Lazo (Junior Bowler of the Year Male and Female), Nicco Agujo and Pauline Sta. Ana (Most Improved Bowler of the Year Male and Female).

In other sports, veteran cyclist Eboy Farr copped the Cyclist of the Year title while Cha Pagdilao took home the Photographer of the Year award and triathlete Wacky Baniqued claimed the Multisport Athlete of the Year crown.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Related Posts